diary

Diary #1

It’s the second week of the semester and I feel right in the thick of it… kinda. It’s hard to know where the middle of the action is. I have a lot less hours than I’d anticipated and so while my friends are busy with their courses, I’m biding my time with extracurricular activities. I also have a new barista job that keeps me busy.

Let me paint you a picture. It’s a rainy Monday afternoon and there’s no chance the drizzle will lift today. I look really cute and autumnal but it’s wasted as I’m confined to a computer suite because going outside is insufferable (I have so many problems). It’s still warm enough to leave my sweater at home, but I lost my umbrella and so I had to buy a hat, which I don’t actually mind because it’s a really nice hat. I think a spider just crawled into my boot so I’m not going near that.

I have to admit that I have an itch to pack a bag and go gallivanting off somewhere. The wanderlust is real! But I take a look at my bank account and I know that it’s literally impossible right now – I wouldn’t make it as far as the airport. Now is the time to be settled and stay in one place for a while.

I saw a quote the other day about travelling, it went something like;

“Travel is the frivolous part of serious lives

and the serious part of frivolous lives.”

I don’t recall the author, sorry. I felt a little insulted at first. ‘Travelling is a very serious thing, that doesn’t make my life frivolous blah blah blah’ and as I went on to myself I began to think about it more. I mulled over it a while and I came to all kinds of understanding, which I won’t bore you with here. If there’s anything I could do a bit better, it would be to get out of my own head.

So here I am, for a few months at least. My attention has shifted to (admittedly frivolous) things like fashion, bingeing on Gilmore Girls and keeping up with my Pinterest feed but I’m still completely invested in bettering myself. I’ve been reading a lot and I’m back to working out with Neil in the evenings. My participation in college societies has been A++ now that I’m the auditor of Best Buddies – a volunteer program to connect students with individuals with intellectual disabilities. It’s my third year volunteering and as a committee member.

I’m also looking out for ideas for an independent project. I think I’d like another challenge… By September my focus on the blog is usually geared towards taking it somewhere new. The problem, of course, being I don’t really have a clue where that new place is. Any ideas, anyone? My mind saunters away to notions of creative writing. I’ve also considered a reading challenge.

I found this really great blog last month called Red Lemonade – it won the Image.ie Best Blog Awards 2014 Wild Card and it is hilarious! The author reads Sweet Valley High novels and gives a play-by-play of the plot with enlightening commentary and opinion throughout. The SVH series holds a very dear place in my heart from my own pre-teen years. I loved Jessica and Elizabeth Wakefield! Let’s be honest, I wanted to be them. I used to hunt down the books in secondhand bookstores.

I’d love to be doing something like that.

This has kind of turned into a weird diary entry, hope that’s okay haha. I might do more of these, sometimes you just want to blast your thoughts online for everyone to see.

sigature_blog

Leave a Reply

