Health

Recipe: Apple Cinnamon cupcakes

Hello! I’m still here, life has just been a bit hectic lately and I’ve had to get used to some changes. Everything has been broken up into three parts and I’m always watching the time for my College-Work-Life transition. Buuuut, I finally got around to investing time in a love of mine this weekend; Baking.

Taking time out from a busy schedule to spend on a hobby is a priority in my life. It’s not easy but occasionally it’s necessary. I guess you could say writing on this blog is a worthy time investment…

Anyway I’m not going to go on and on when this is clearly a recipe for cupcakes. Autumn is in full swing and that means apple trees are absolutely brimming with ripe red apples for picking. It’s like they’re screaming to be put in a pie.Well my mom made an apple pie last week so I wanted to try something different. With a bowl of freshly picked apples from our back garden, I got chopping.

apple-cinnamon-cupcakes

Apple Cinnamon cupcakes

Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ cups of self-raising flour
  • 1 cup of caster sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • ½ cup of butter and a dollop of olive oil
  • 5 regular sized apples
  • cinnamon spice

Method:

  1. Peel and chop the apples into cubes. Pop in a saucepan with a tablespoon of cinnamon and sugar and ¼ cup of water.
  2. Bring the apples to the boil and lower the temp. and let simmer for another 5 minutes.
  3. While the apples are stewing, whisk the sugar, eggs and butter/oil in a bowl and then sieve the flour into the mix. Add two tablespoons of cinnamon.
  4. Add an extra tablespoon of flour if it’s very runny. You want it to be a bit dry.
  5. Take the stewed apples off the heat and strain most of the juice, but not all.
  6. Add the apples to the mixture and stir with a spoon. It should be liquid-y.
  7. Spoon the mix into cupcake cases and pop into a pre-heated oven (190°C fan oven) for 15 minutes or until they’re done.
  8. Take out and cool and pipe or spread on vanilla icing. Sprinkle cinnamon on top to garnish and serve. Makes 11-12 depending on your choice of bun case.

Disclaimer: I’m not a professional baker, I just have enough experience that I don’t really touch a weighing scales so some of my measurements might be a bit off.

Enjoy!

sigature_blog

Leave a Reply

