Health · Kitchen

Foodie Hall: Ulc Fudge Brownies

Hello!

After sifting through life’s priorities and which I’ve not wholly completed yet, I have finally arrived at ze blog! It has fallen somewhere down along the bottom of my to-do list, but if I did not place other things higher, I would not have anything to write about – a vicious cycle.

So on Tuesday, with a little bounce in my step I arose at 7am and took a stroll to Supervalu for some supplies. I’m in a fashion show tomorrow and I don’t want to be bloated so I’ve been ultra-low carb all week. Knowing myself I knew that unless I took precautions I would succumb to chocolate and snacking on the odd treats flung my way at work (I work in a kitchen). My expedition to the supermarket was for Stevia; a sweetener that does not spike insulin. While I was there I also found cacao paste; an amazing food and I plan on stocking up and I treated myself to a Lindt 90% dark chocolate bar. These formed the basis of a beautifully decadent fudge chocolate brownie.

They’re small, but mighty filling. Plus there’s only 2.7g of carbohydrate per cupcake! For the purpose of this post, I actually measured out my ingredients.

wp-1490220682996.jpg

Ulc Fudge Brownies

Makes: 6 small ‘uns

Carbs (per cupcake)…………………2.79

of which sugars (per cupcake)…..1.9

Ingredients:

  • 40g Coconut flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 50g Cacao paste
  • 30g 90% dark chocolate (or two squares of a Lindt bar)
  • 2 tblsp pure Stevia
  • 2 tblsp butter
  • 2 tblsp coconut oil
  • A dollop of cream (if necessary)

Method:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 180°C
  2. Melt the butter, cacao paste, chocolate and coconut oil in a saucepan on medium-high heat. Stir continuously. Take off heat when melted.
  3. Add the eggs and stevia and continue to stir.
  4. Mix the coconut flour in gradually.
  5. If the mixture does not resemble a wet paste, then add in a dollop of cream.
  6. Spoon into cupcake cases and bake for 10-12 minutes. Smooth out the tops before placing in the oven so that your’s don’t turn out like lumpy peaks the way mine did.

Those are scones in the background, I made a batch at the same time and put them both in the same baking tray. You can find a recipe for those here

wp-1490220698080.jpg

sigature_blog

One thought on “Foodie Hall: Ulc Fudge Brownies

Leave a Reply

